Skip to content Skip to footer

Music week in review: A$AP Twelvyy, YG, Suicideyear, and more

After a slew of massive music releases in recent weeks, this week was a little more low key.

There’s still plenty of quality out there, but without some of the marquee names of late.

We like to keep things pretty diverse on these lists, but it’s too hot out here, so this week is exclusively for hip-hop.

A$AP Twelvyy – 12

A$AP Twelvyy has proved on his debut album 12 why he’s next up out of the A$AP Mob.

Despite A$AP Rocky’s nods to Houston in his own music, Twelvyy himself has more of a vintage NY sound. 12 is definitely some true Harlem hip-hop, with all features coming from NY natives.

A$APs Rocky, Ant, Nast, and Ferg join up with Twelvyy, as well as Flatbush Zombies and Smooky Margielaa.

This is definitely some shit to get you through the dog days. A$AP Mob bout to take over with Cozy Tapes 2 due in the fall.

Ugly God – The Booty Tape

The Houston rapper Ugly God burst onto the scene with his 2016 hit “Water,” in which he says the word water over and over again.

His debut mixtape The Booty Tape definitely shows the same, uh, skills that were on display on “Water.”

This album is definitely something. Ugly God and his extremely X-Rated brand of hip-hop (with song titles like “I’m Tryna Fuck” and “Fuck Ugly God) has definitely mastered post-post-modern hip-hop.

Jazmine Sullivan (ft. Bryson Tiller) – “Insecure”

The first track off the Insecure soundtrack sees Philadelphia songstress Jazmine Sullivan match up with Bryson Tiller with a nod to 90s R&B on “Insecure.”

Definitely some very laid back vibes on “Insecure” as Sullivan implores a past lover to just chill the f out.

Rae Sremmurd – “Perplexing Pegasus”


After dropping Sremmlife 2 almost a year ago, Rae Sremmurd are bringing that August heat with “Perplexing Pegasus.”

It’s exactly what we’ve come to expect out of the Tupelo, Mississippi brothers; a banging Mike Will beat, some bars about their recent acquisitions, and a fire Swae Lee hook that will stay stuck in your head forever.

“Perplexing Pegasus” is sure to become a fixture in the club.

Juicy J (ft. Offset) – “Flood Watch”

Juicy J joins up with Offset (who has been murdering the feature game as of late) for “Flood Watch” and it’s a banger (what else would you expect).

Produced by the great TM-88, “Flood Watch” is the first single off Juicy’s upcoming album Rubber Band Business: The Album.

We’re always hype to get new Juicy, we can’t wait for the full project.

Lil Durk & Lil Reese – “Distance”

Chicago natives Lil Durk and Lil Reese dropped a new track with accompanying visuals off their upcoming joint EP Supa Vultures.

It’s been a minute since we’ve heard from the Chicagoans after they took over the hip-hop game a couple years ago alongside Chief Keef.

Supa Vultures, out next Friday, will definitely bring the drill. It’s good to see the embattled Reese back doing his thing, he still has one of our favorite releases in recent years.

YG – “Fuck It Up”

YG has made his return with a pair of singles, “Fuck It Up” and “YNS” with Blac Youngsta and YFN Lucci.

We’re getting vintage YG on both tracks. One is definitely catered to the strip club, the other for the streets.

YG (ft. Blac Youngsta, YFN Lucci) – “YNS”

The pair of tracks is slated to appear on YG’s Just Re’d Up 3: Know Your Worth. The DJ Mustard-produced album has yet to receive an official release date, but it should drop in the calendar year.

As proud members of #YGHive, we’re hype for any and all YG releases.

Beenie Man – “Work Hard”

Beenie Man, one of the most prominent purveyors of dancehall, is back with “Work Hard.”

For any late season beach trips, “Work Hard” should power the party long into the night, it’s always shouts out to Beenie Man.

Brockhampton – “GUMMY”

Texas hip-hop collective Brockhampton are already following up their debut Saturation, which only came out in May, by dropping their next release, “Gummy” off Saturation II.

Brockhampton show why they’re so highly-regarded in the alternative rap scene, both in the very different-sounding track, as well as the wild visuals.

These dudes are definitely ones to watch, it’s clear they ain’t going anywhere.

Suicideyear – Fader Mix

Fresh off last week’s EP Hate Songs, Baton Rouge producer and DJ Suicideyear has blessed The Fader with a fire mix.

Shifting between trap hip-hop originals and remixes, with elements of european house sprinkled in, this hour-long mix will have the function popping.

If you haven’t done a deep dive on Suicideyear yet, you should change that. This mix is the perfect introduction to his dark underworld of murky beats and 808s.