Skip to content Skip to footer

Best new tracks of the week: The Weeknd and Kendrick, Rick Ross, Lykke Li, & more

After the year-long month that was January, we’re into the safe confines of a new month, far away from the new year, the holidays, and all the other shit that keeps you from listening to new music.

This week we’ve got some interesting drops from the Black Panther soundtrack, Rich Brian’s debut album, Ricky Rozay, Lykke Li covering Jim Croce, and some other dope releases.

Let’s jump into it.

The Weeknd – “Pray For Me” (ft. Kendrick Lamar)

The star-studded Black Panther soundtrack, compiled and curated by TDE, is sure to be full of hits with some pretty wild collaborations.

“Pray For Me”, featuring The Weeknd and Kendrick Lamar, is definitely going to be everywhere. This track is a banger, we’re trying to hear this whole Black Panther OST right damn now.

Rich Brian – “Occupied”

Rich Brian’s career started as a joke. Now, after a (very necessary) name change, he’s dropped his first full project, Amen, and it’s anything but funny.

This is a very legitimate record from the Indonesian rapper. “Occupied” and “Attention” with Offset (yes he got a Migos feature) bang.

Rick Ross – “Florida Boy” (ft. T-Pain & Kodak Black)

Rozay teams up with fellow Florida natives T-Pain (Tallahassee) and Kodak Black (Pompano Beach) for this soul-sampling banger in typical Ross fashion.

Does this mean there’s a new Rick Ross project on the way?

Lykke Li – “Time In A Bottle”

Everyone’s favorite Swedish dream-pop star Lykke Li has covered Jim Croce’s “Time In  A Bottle”, adding her evocative spin to the track.

It’s cool to have some new Lykke material, she’s recently been working with Miike Snow and others for her LIV supergroup.

Smokepurpp – “Geek A Lot”

Florida rapper Smokepurpp joined up with producer Ronny J for this distorted, apocalyptic banger. If you’re of the “lyrical” rap mold, you will not enjoy this.

If you don’t take yourself too seriously, mosh out to this one.

Thunderpussy – “Torpedo Love”

Thunderpussy, the Seattle band with perhaps the best band name ever, dropped “Torpedo Love”, a slow-boiling rock ballad that unfolds into a massive wall of sound.

These women can fuckin’ rock.

YBN Nahmir – “Bounce Out With That”

Montgomery, Alabama teenage rapper YBN Nahmir became a viral star after last year’s “Rubbin’ Off The Paint”.

He’s been backing up the success of “Rubbin Off The Paint” since then, this time with the bumping “Bounce Out With That”.

Gunna – “Helluva Price”

Seems like there’s a new popping ATL trap rapper everyday. Gunna, who dropped Drip Season 3 today, could easily be the next up.

“Helluva Price”, produced by Metro Boomin, covers on many of the familiar sounds and tropes of trap rap. Shit is hot.

Rejjie Snow – “The Ends” (ft. Jesse James Solomon)

Rejjie Snow, the Irish rapper who has previously worked with Joey Bada$$, dropped the second part of his Dear Annie project today.

It’s some very interesting, musical hip-hop, drawing from the Dublin native’s a massive selection of influences. Snow is one to check out if you haven’t yet.

The Kid Daytona – “Litcoin” (ft. Mid-Nite)

New York rappers Daytona and Mid-Nite teamed up on this bop “Litcoin”. Backed by some funky-ass, wailing horns, Daytona and Mid-Nite trade hilarious punchlines and boasts.

It’s a great partnership, gotta hear more from Daytona and Mid-Nite.